Acting

I’m biased.

I like actors who have theater training.  Formal, informal.  Doesn’t matter.

An actor who understands that she is part of a long standing tradition of treading the boards, who deals in craft and magic.

There’s something about actors who bring it.  Focus, relaxation, tension, conflict.  They make us want to watch.

I refuse to run away from actors and only spend my time on technology and the crew.

Ego, divahood, drama – so what?  A great actor can do things ordinary mortals can’t.  They’re the most vulnerable.  My writing and directing are separate from who I am.  Acting?  Not so much.  They’re the only people on a film/television set who can’t see what they’re doing.

When you’ve worked with a great actor, you know what I mean.  So do it.

About liftingasweclimb

Mildred Lewis writes and directs for theater, television, film and the web. She's also a full time professor, Christian, activist and troublemaker with a passion to save as much of the world as she can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment