What types of things helped you as a teen stay away from drugs and other harmful things?

Answer by Mildred Lewis:

Being really good at something. I was studying cello, playing in the Manhattan and City Wide student orchestras and zooming along at a wonderful high school. As a result, I had an identity and community. This gave me the pride, confidence and esteem to make better decisions. Even though I hadn't fully defined who I was apart from what I was doing, it gave me a critical safety zone and the time to figure those things out.

This experience is why I'm adamantly against bogus programs that try to boost self esteem apart from real accomplishment. I also find the idea of keeping teens busy to keep them out of trouble to be profoundly insulting. They need activities of consequence to create meaning and value just as adults do.

View Answer on Quora

About liftingasweclimb

Mildred Lewis writes and directs for theater, television, film and the web. She's also a full time professor, Christian, activist and troublemaker with a passion to save as much of the world as she can.
This entry was posted in Real Talk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

