In the Meantime

As two creative projects that have taken a very long time to come to fruition crawl to the finish line, I’ve been thinking about expectations versus reality for artists with day jobs. We’re certainly not the first people to take much longer to finish a project than they’d hoped. What bugs me is that I feel so ashamed. Perhaps because people initially were excited about the idea and I feel that I’ve let them down – although I know good and well most folks aren’t really concerned. I secretly worry that maybe the time for it has passed. Maybe it’s those occasional snarky asides, “you’re still working on that?!”

Nonetheless I believe you learn something by completing a work that you can’t learn any other way, so we press on. But deep down on the inside, I still have to battle those inner demons who take every opportunity to let me know that I’m not measuring up to my own self created hype.

 

 

About liftingasweclimb

Mildred Lewis writes and directs for theater, television, film and the web. She's also a full time professor, Christian, activist and troublemaker with a passion to save as much of the world as she can.
This entry was posted in Real Talk, The Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

