“It’s Easier To Be Right All of the Time Than Some of the Time”

So … I went to yoga tonight, sweated, struggled then overcame. With a few modifications. Left the Y, drove to the Vons.

8:30 p.m., Thursday night.

I decided to get gas and donuts for the students. A guy sidled out of the bushes, then sat down on the drivers side next to my car where only the driver ahead of me could see him. The driver, a middle aged cat, could have sat in his car and left with me. Chivalry and common sense are dead.  Today, me. Tomorrow, your daughter. The clerk had conveniently lowered the shades of her booth. Turns out that I’d see and complained about this guy before. So I did the same thing today. When I asked the security guard to send him on his way, a passing brother scoffed.

WTH?!@#

Letting things slide — let’s not mince words — condoning wrongdoing is savaging even middle class black communities. There’s nothing funny or titillating about someone being harassed. I don’t know what this beggar’s endgame is. He’s well dressed and fed, but only comes out at night. Is he testing the waters for a rape, an abduction, a robbery? Is he mentally ill? A creep? Whatever it is, it can’t be good. But when something goes down, it will have been a long time coming. So why not do something now, while it’s a small, manageable problem. Let’s take the wisdom of Geoffrey Canada.  Let’s not wait until people are lost to try to save them.

I despair for people who won’t act on their own behalf. Who think letting things slide covers them to cut a few corners.  Who think a rebel stance is cute.

I think these must be some of the same folks who encourage kids to be disrespectful when they are small, then are stymied when they wake up to out of control teenagers.

Large gaps begin with small fissures. And I’m beginning to see that grooming isn’t just for child abusers. Some kids smoked blunts on my steps. Again. They unscrewed the light. Trying to see if I would, you guessed it, let it slide. I didn’t and won’t. They’ll try again and fail. But the energy that I’m devoting to this, I could be using to upgrade my life, not to keep it on life support. Remember the old phrase, you have to show them who’s boss? You do.

 

 

 

About liftingasweclimb

Mildred Lewis writes and directs for theater, television, film and the web. She's also a full time professor, Christian, activist and troublemaker with a passion to save as much of the world as she can.
This entry was posted in Real Talk and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

