Oh No He Didn’t

Today when I was dozing peacefully at church, my pastor made a statement about “cleaning up Obama’s mess.”

The world isn’t going to come to an end if Romney/Ryan win. Nor is everything going to be perfect if President Obama is re-elected as I hope he will be. But this is a long standing pattern of my pastor and other African American pastors (cf. his megachurch buddy Bishop Eddie Long) out and out insulting the political sensibilities of their congregations, a/k/a the people paying their salaries without any spiritual point being made whatsoever.

I am officially done.

I’m not interested in pastor as CEO, particularly if nothing the church does turns a profit. I’m interested in a pastor as a pastor. Bring back returned phone calls, hospital visits and coffee cake, teaching and fellowship, accountability and authenticity.  If I want to read RNC talking points or DNC talking points for that matter, I’ll do that outside of church.

About liftingasweclimb

Mildred Lewis writes and directs for theater, television, film and the web. She's also a full time professor, Christian, activist and troublemaker with a passion to save as much of the world as she can.
This entry was posted in Real Talk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

