Me and Dad

Yes, I’m a daddy’s girl. Even though I identify more with women, my mom and I had a very difficult relationship. Her struggles with mental illness made me and my dad unlikely allies.

One of our rituals was to watch the talk shows: Meet the Press, Tony Brown’s Journal and Gil Noble’s Like it Is. When my dad had a film cement/video side business, we used to deliver stuff to ABC and it was always a thrill when we would spot him.

Mr. Noble has suffered a stroke and announced that he won’t be returning to the show. ¬†What a drag.

I know it had to happen sometime but still I feel incredibly sad. People in the black bourgie bastion of River Terrace who prized independent thinkers, wanted to live in a better, more just city and loved emerging African nations held this journalist in high regard. So do I.

My thoughts and prayers are with him and his family.

About liftingasweclimb

Mildred Lewis writes and directs for theater, television, film and the web. She's also a full time professor, Christian, activist and troublemaker with a passion to save as much of the world as she can.
This entry was posted in Real Talk and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

