Things I Like – Nikki Giovanni

from “Serious Poems”

Poems have to tell the truth

Which is world holding up time

They need to remind people of our sacred duty

To remember the captured people whom we called

Slaves

To remember they believed in tomorrow

They believed in in us

They believed in the power of a serious poem

To carry our story forward

Poems are serious business

And only serious people

Should apply

 

from “Jackie Robinson is Dead”

Thing get set

in motion

that cannot be

Undone

***

Jackie Robinson

Is dead

And if you touch

Ron Artest

He will kick

Your

ass

 

from “I Am Mighty Mouse”

The reason I think I am Mighty Mouse is this:

Once upon a time a long time ago when I was a very young woman and had not at that time actually met Dr. Dorothy (Dottie) Height (1912-2010) she made me know how important it is for women to have confidence in each other.

***

Dorothy Height is one of the most astute political minds of the twentieth century.  There are no major decisions made concerning Civil Rights that Dr. Height has not participated in.

***

What Dorothy Height decided:  Dottie said to her aide “I must speak with our keynoter. I must make her or him understand what is at stake.  Marge Schott must not be allowed to get away with this.  Who is the speaker? Her aide called Cincinnatti to ask who is the keynoter. Nikki Giovanni she was told.  The aide reported back to Dr. Height: it is Nikki Giovanni.

“Nikki?” asked Dottie.  “Are you sure?” “Yes, Dr. Height, I am sure.”  “Well then,” said the might one, “I’m going to bed. “Don’t you want to talk with her?” Height was asked.  “Oh, no.  Nikki will take care of it. Good night.”

What it meant: when I heard Dr. Dorothy Height had such faith in me that I would do the right thing I felt so proud I could have burst. I have always admired Dorothy Height and I am so proud to know she had confidence in me.  I wanted to step onto that stage and say, “…here I come to save the day…”  And I did make ESPN for the only time in my life. But mostly I knew the pride that comes from knowing Dorothy Height went to bed.  Never worrying that I would carry the day.

I’ve been in board rooms and classrooms and green rooms.  Read widely and well.  Traveled and seen.

And I often feel ground down by the problems facing our nation, African Americans and my own ranch.  The free floating rage from the radio and volatile friends who tell and retell their stories of going off as if they were badges of honor.

When I long for life changing sweetness, courageous kindness, and incisive gentleness I turn to music and poetry.

There is nothing like a skillful poet like Nikki Giovanni with her tangible, intelligent love for black people when you’re tired of the mud slinging and gender wars and cynicism and generation gaps, simple solutions and denial.  Simplicity and elegance with an elfin grin.

 

About liftingasweclimb

Mildred Lewis writes and directs for theater, television, film and the web. She's also a full time professor, Christian, activist and troublemaker with a passion to save as much of the world as she can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

