Thank you, Suze Orman

I watched Suze Orman’s Women and Money show obsessively.  I wanted the lessons to stick.  Her insights came in handy today.  Very handy, indeed.

Women and Money

My producing partner and I went to a pitch meeting.  Essentially we were asked – by very kind, well meaning folks – to develop a sizzle reel, for free, that they would take to another production company that would take the idea to networks. 

One thing that Suze drilled was to stop treating myself like I am on sale.  Although there is nothing but love, that meant I had to pass on this pitch. My skills, resume, body of work and talent mean that I can’t warm sheets for someone else to enjoy.

I shudder when I think of the many times that I’ve thrown my talents away without even asking for compensation.  No more.

Thank you, Suze.

Suze Orman

About liftingasweclimb

Mildred Lewis writes and directs for theater, television, film and the web. She's also a full time professor, Christian, activist and troublemaker with a passion to save as much of the world as she can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

