Millennial Etiquette

Dear Mil,

I slaved worked for years for a bunch of racist, sexist, homophobic … You get my drift. After hanging Harriet

Tubman Harriet Tubman and John Brown John Brown posters in my cube , I finally conjured the spirits of the ancestors and escaped got a better gig. Now I’m building my franchise and looking forward to passing a legacy on to my family.

Here’s my dilemma. I am being inundated by requests from former co-workers and bosses to join them on Hi5, LinkedIn, Facebook – you get the picture. I don’t want to be petty but what to do?

P.S. Some of them are still talking the same ish that I used to shut them down for on a daily basis. Cyberspace bold.

Sincerely,

Newly Self-Employed

Dear Newly Self-Employed,

I’m sure you now understand visionary Diana Ross’s point more profoundly. Your old cellmates are trying to just keep you hangin’ on. And on, and on. To resolve this dilemma I turn to that great philosopher James Brown. “Static. Don’t start none. Won’t be none.”  James Brown

You are under no obligation to respond to these cyberstalkers. After all, you didn’t want to spend time with them when you were getting paid to do so. Why bother now? And no way do they deserve access to your contacts or dating pool. I recommend that you consign them to cyberspace limbo.

Don’t click ignore. Don’t shoot back a snippy e-mail. Like all jiu jitsu masters, they will only absorb your strength and use it against you. Just let their requests sit there. Month after month. Year after year. Bwah ha ha.

They can’t bad mouth you to customers/clients/patrons. You didn’t do anything. And after all, we live in a cult of busy-ness. (h/t Barbara Ehrenreich) You just haven’t had a chance to get back to them. Just like they never got around to that raise or to apologizing for calling Obama a Muslim terrorist.

Passive aggressively,

Mil

About liftingasweclimb

Mildred Lewis writes and directs for theater, television, film and the web. She's also a full time professor, Christian, activist and troublemaker with a passion to save as much of the world as she can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

